Turning Point
March 13th, 2002, 3:23 p.m.

earlier / later

Yesterday was a turning point in my life. People constantly turn over leaves, make decisions about lifestyles, change attitudes, change lovers, and do any number of things that dramatically alter their lives. And yes, people are always saying "I will never do that again" or "I need to change this, and THIS time I'm going to stick to it".

Well, I never say those things, because I don't often make dramatic lifestyle decisions. But yesterday was different. I've had to deal with economic concerns, acadamia concerns, relationship concerns, and most recently legal concerns. The culmination of all of these problems fell on me yesterday and crushed me like the insignificant little carbon lifeform that I am. It crushed me at the busstop.

There I am, at the busstop next to Shands, leaving the Dental Office, because I did not have $20 to cover the examination fee. Wondering "Why don't I have $20 to my name anywhere that I can use in an emergency situation like this"? That was the point in which I took my financial will-power and revitalized it. No one should not be able to get $20 for something they NEED. And from now on, that will no longer be the case with me. Bill collectors, watch out, I'm comin' after YOU!

Second, on the academia front, I do always say that I will study harder 'next' time. And I'm not going to say "this time I mean it", because I always mean it. There just exists the problem of living up to it. With the other major decisions I'm making this week, it will be much easier to stick to this tenet.

On the relationship front, I'm single once again. Can't say that it is the choice I would MOST like to have, but it is necessary nonetheless. I have given in to women who play games and give mixed signals too often in the past year and I forgot about a time when I would simply ignore those girls. Well, Nick will no longer be the mind-manipulation voodoo doll. My kindness has obviously been mistaken for weakness and, thus, preyed upon.

Turning point number three: Apparently, because of a legal snafu on my part, I have a Warrant out for my Arrest. Before you pick up the phone, no, there is NO reward. This problem, as I have found out from the District Attorney's Office, is easily fixed by paying the government more of the money I earn. Money, I might add, that is already taxed upward of 28%. So, soon, this problem will no longer be a problem and I can safely speed and not worry about jail time.

And thus, my life will go on. Only now slightly different, slightly more secure, slightly more mature, slightly happier, and slightly less susceptible to girls who want to use me.

Enjoy your week ladies and gents.

DiaryLand.com