Music = Lifestyle ..... NOT!
June 13th, 2002, 1:46 a.m.

earlier / later

The music you like to listen to and your lifestyle. Yeah, now that's a strong correlation. It's like saying I like to eat and ONLY eat Captain Crunch breakfast cereal so I'm going to go out and buy myself a pirate's hat and dye my hair golden yellow just like the Captain .... Aye Matey!

I'm sure the best way to show off your unique alternativeness is to dress similar to the angst-monging lead singer of your favorite punk/alternative/indie band. Yeah, now that's straying far from the conformist regime you so blatantly criticize while at the same time showing that you 'know' how to 'think' for yourself. Rock on Einstein!

Ironically these same people will see me in my pressed Khaki pants and tucked-in polo shirt and make certain judgements about me conforming ... while I can walk around casually secure in knowing who I am and WHY I am that way. I can walk around and know that I have my personality based on other things than the pop-cultural icons that are flashed in front of my face daily.

Now that that's out of the way I think I'll go buy my cliche' used thrift-shop T-shirt so I can show off my punk music taste, baggy clothes so I can look like a thug for when NAS is on my stereo, or perhaps some dark ragged clothing so people 'know' I just bought the new Korn album.

DiaryLand.com