Austin Powers 3 is Today's Top News?
May 16th, 2002, 5:46 p.m.

earlier / later

I have once again discovered the magnificence that is basic cable ...

Reruns of shitty 80's sitcoms and action shows, six channels of constant streaming news, three sports channels, Discovery, TLC, History Channel, Discovery Health, Law & Order on four channels 8 times a day or 9 on Weds. I love it I love it I love it.

But, amidst the barrage of varied information provided by the news networks, don't you think CNN should lay off the trying-to-cover-every-topic role? Turn on CNN Headline news nowadays and what do you find ... The day's Headlines every 15 minutes, streaming by-lines, streaming stocks, the time, weather, sports scores, entertainment news, and web-links all on the screen on the same bloody time!

First of all, it's CNN Headline News ... not CNN Headline news with a bunch of other crap. That's what the other cable channels are for. If I wanted the weather I'd turn on the Weather Channel, for Sports it's ESPN, ESPN2, or CNNSi. For stocks and financial news it's off to MSNBC or CNNfn. Who's wearing the most expensive outfit to the Emmy's ... hmmm, let's turn to E! and see what Joan fucking Rivers has to say. And for all the other schlock I can always turn to the other CNN for more "in-depth" analysis. Apparently "in-depth" these days means Jerry Springer/Talkshow-ish.

My beloved courier of Headline News has been bought and rebought, returned, and bought another time by corporate America. But I thought corporate America owned FOX News? Makes you wonder.

My fellow cable-junkies out there will understand the plight of this lone polisci student. And to corporate America I say: "Bring back my simple Headline News or I'll be forced to ... to ... to ... go on the internet and get it, like a college student is supposed to"!

DiaryLand.com