Work Vacation
December 23, 2004, 1:46 a.m.

earlier / later

So, I'm working again: hence the lack of updates. Some good and some bad in this, I suppose.

It's good for the fact that all the people I work with are coffee freaks like me. And not the 'Hey, lets drink a bunch of coffee til we have to use the bathroom every half hour' kind ... but more the 'Hey, lets brew another pot because we finished this one off, and use the bathroom every ten minutes' kind.

Yeah. And the funny thing about that is that it's true. Even I don't brew another pot when I finish one by myself.

So it's cool, but the guys are hispanic so they do strange stuff with their coffee like heat up the milk til it bubbles and make this kinda curdy Cafe con Leche drink. And they don't use sugar, sweet-n-low, etc. Now, I could drink some nice flavored or super-expensive Jamacian Blue Mountain coffee without sweetener, but the regular Folgers from the industrial tin ... I'd sooner chew my own toes off.

The other nice thing about working here is that it's the first time in years that I don't have any responsibilities. I don't need to worry about customers, due dates, scheduling, supervising, emails, shoplifters, blah blah blah ... I'd call it a work-vacation. Being here for a while should be pretty cathartic. Especially seeing as I need to go through a major operation in a few months.

The only drawback is that I'm the newest employee and, thus, lowest on the totem pole of input and freedom. They should just stop calling me Nick and call me 'Intern'. That's how it kinda feels, but oh well.

Oh, also, I work with my hands and get to listen to music (good music) all day.
Damn, I missed making signs.

P.S.
For those wanting to know how the painkiller breakdown goes.

Tylenol(worst) --> Ibuprofen --> Ultracet --> Percocet --> Darvocet --> Tylenol with Codeine --> Vioxx(which is now banned) --> Hydrocodone --> Oxycodone --> Oxycontin --> Morphine --> Heroin(best).

DiaryLand.com