Mr Sun
April 8th, 2001, 12:40 p.m.

earlier / later

Do you think Jacob Dylan had to hide the pot he was smoking as a teenager....?

I've been trying to get some sun the last few weeks. Oh, but that's bad! Any doctor, or my stepmom, will tell you that dark skin (that glow in your cheeks) .... is no good! "That's no good at all"!

I guess it's that pasty whiteness that's a shining sign of modern health?

To hear doctors say it; that it's terrible to allow your skin to be exposed to the sun .... when you go outside .... is always reassuring too. I mean, come on ... how often during the course of a day do we happen to venture outside?! Outside: what's that? They recommend that you cover up your body with heavy clothing when you go outdoors on one of those scorching summer days .... a trench coat, maybe a ski mask .... I'm dressed like Admiral Byrd making his way to the South Pole, but at least I won't fall into the one-in-a-million statistic who gets skin cancre. Yes, I spelled it skin cancre. Got a problem with that? Good, didn't think so! I think putting the "e" after the "r" is cool, so bite me.

Anyway, I suppose it's better to be dressed like I'm about to hold up a convienience store in New England in December than to get skin cancer. But apparently while I'm wearing all this "heavy clothing" ... heat stroke isn't a problem ... it's the 3 square inches of my body that comes in contact with the sun that I should be worried about.

Also, clogging my pores with tons of mass-produced skin goop like "bullfrog" must be much better than exposing myself to the key ingredient to all life on Earth ... Mr Sun.

But then again, on the flip-side ... too much sun and your face will start to wrinkle and sag faster than Katie Couric's under a couple of stage lamps in summer. Or even worse .... you could end up looking like Joan Rivers (sans face-lifts) .... and you're a guy!

Oh well, I guess it's one of those problems we weren't meant to solve at this juncture in human evolution and existence. Fuck a duck.

til later.

- Nick

DiaryLand.com