teen-angst is for losers
Feb 13th, 2001, 14:15:11

earlier / later

I was trying to find a good subject for which to let me go off into some ranting diatribe about life or something, and I found it:

Most of the people with journals in Diaryland seem to be girls between the ages of 15 and 21. I've come to two conclusions browsing through hundreds of diaries: teenage girls are stupid! and Americans are inherently whiny and self-pitying.

I don't really feel a necessity to go into an entire rant about how teenage girls are just plain idiotic. Check your email archives and look at the emails you have received from your misc. girl friends. Full of trite, misspelled, pointless dribble? That's what I thought. I stumbled upon a couple of thoughts in my web ventures this afternoon. One: I always hated stupid people back when I was in high school. I'm not sure why I stopped, but ignorant and stupid individuals used to piss me off to the Nth degree. Two: I was an editor in my school's literary publication; which was mainly managed by pseudo-goth, pseudo-intellectual freaks..... all the submissions for artwork or poetry or short stories was all this stock angst-ridden teenage garbage. Oh yeah Miss "Black Angel" ... the fact that you can put your desire to rip your ex's dick off into a poem is soooooo fucking profound. I used to get so sick of that shit and I said it. It was all the same dark, boring, nagging teen-angst shit.

I'm not saying that I was ever really happy in high school, or that I was the most intelligent person .... but those two things just pissed me off. Anyway, I've gone on enough of a background tangent.

I read through these journals and it's the same crap I used to see at the Elysium meetings, trying to weed out the "dark" poems. It's not that teen life is easy; I know it's not! But these pathetic individuals who refuse to do anything about their personal plight .... ugh! If you are NOT trying to make your life better then you have no right to sit down and complain as if the sky is falling all around you. If your mom dies, mourn. If your car dies, complain. If you friend ditches you for a date, whine. But if you're "sad" and "in a dark place" and blah blah blah, blah blah ad naseaum then DO something about it. Get the fuck out of the house, get a job, go out with friends, go see a doctor, get some medication, take a fucking nap. People have problems. Hell, I have and have had more problems than the average Joe Schmoe, but I don't let it control every aspect of my life. It's part of the life experience and I deal with it. I'm not an immensely strong person by any means, but when I see something that needs to be fought, I fight it.

I've read through the journals and I'm not sure if I want to continue on. America is a country of whiners and complainers. No matter how low someone's self-esteem is .... they still believe the world's job is to pity them and their "shitty" little life. For the most part ours is not a reflective culture and we do not raise our eyes to the hills. Most of the time we decide the critical things while looking at the linoleum floors of an instutional corridor, or whispering hurriedly in a waiting room with a television blatting nonsense. There is nothing so dramatic about your life!

I write all this in the best of intentions, and if I have offended anyone, then get over it!

DiaryLand.com