a short description
October 6th, 2001, 7:42 p.m.

earlier / later

I recently got promoted at work to a security position. And the great thing about security at my job means that I have complete authority over when employees can leave.

It's like being a god. "Oh shit, we have to wait at the door for Nick to let us out. Where is he? NIIIIICCCCKKKK, please let us out!"

I even have superseding "security" authority over managers and supervisors. "Oh, you'd like to leave Mr. ManagerMan...? Well, I need to search your briefcase first. Yeah, go ahead and take everything out... yeah, that's good."

Not that I'm going to abuse my "Loss Prevention" authority, but it's interesting nonetheless. And, I have always felt some of my best attributes involved making people wary of me and telling people what they can and cannot do.

Not only are those self-absorbed reasons compelling me to love my new job ...

everyone at the store wants to make friends with the security guys because no one wants to be suspected of any kind of thievery. Which means I'll get to be one of the guys that everyone kinda cods up to. And who doesn't love mindless attention from large groups of people, including cute girls?

DiaryLand.com