Not Another Nick Entry
December 31st, 2001, 8:34 a.m.

earlier / later

I went to see "Not Another Teen Movie" .... don't ask me why, we couldn't decide on anything else .... anyway, it turned out to be a great spoof of all of the teennage flicks released in the past twenty years. Everything from the centerstage "John Hughes High School" to a pubescent spoof of American Pie's Oz(Chris Klein) to white cheerleaders ripping off black cheerleader's and bringing "IT" on.

Overall, a damn funny spoof especially since there was just so much material to spoof. Airplane got the Airport movies, Naked Gun got the detective shows of the 60s/70s, Scary Movie got horror movies, and Not Another Teen Movie got the entire genre of pseudo-romantic teen comedies from the past quarter century.

The thing that amused me most was the fact that most of the people in the theater never GOT most of the references. Most of the people in the theater were teennagers who weren't old enough to be seeing the movie anyway. A cameo by Mr T brought the A-Team theme and I don't think anyone but me and my friend caught the reference. The biggest laughs were caught from the toilet humor and jabs at more recent teen movies like American Pie, She's All That, and Bring It On.

I don't usually like using this as a soapbox for movie reviews, good or bad, but as someone who appreciates a good spoof I thought I'd share my experience. When this movie comes out on DVD I'm going to buy it just so I can go through it and catch all the references I missed because I hadn't seen the spoofed movie. I also loved the almost Kevin-Smithian and Scary Movie like references to the "token black guy" who just says "shieeet, daaaaaaaaamn, and that's whack"!

So, on that note I'm gonna go do some shit, try to keep from doing anything too damn boring, and not kill anyone, because that would be whack.

DiaryLand.com