License to maim ... I mean drive.
December 23rd, 2001, 9:44 a.m.

earlier / later

I got my license back .... finally .... yesterday. Finally because my license has been suspended for just about two years. Two years I've been driving on my best behaviour ... or best behaviour when I know there are no cops around.

You don't know what it's like to drive around with fear in the back of your mind like that unless you too have lost your license and/or you're a drug mule transporting our latest recreational products around the state.

Anyway, I am once again a legal driver in the wonderfully warm state of Florida. I say wonderfully warm as sarcasm if you don't know how much I hate the fact that there are only two seasons here: summer and autumn. Autumn comes December through February. Summer is the other 9 months. But I think I'll get into that another time.

After receiving my plastic card of magnificance from the state, my roommate and I went for a drive. He said that if there were any group "within the population that was a high-risk group to hit pedestrians while driving" I was in it.

I disagree. I stay within the neat little white and yellow lines. I obey traffic signals. If someone doesn't want to get hit they shouldn't be in the road. Right?!?

DiaryLand.com