huh huh, you said coffee!
May 12th, 2001, 8:20 a.m.

earlier / later

Everyone keeps telling me that I'm addicted to coffee. Well, sorry to disappoint all of you out there who actually care .... but I AM NOT addicted to coffee or caffeine.

Just because when I don't drink my morning coffee I get massive headaches, combined with a blinding bright light in my retinas, followed by bleak visions of my own mortality, doesn't mean I have a problem.

Though the truth is, coffee is a supplement for me. I could wake up, take a shower, get dressed and continue on with my day. or.... I could have an edge, I could wake up, take my shower, get dressed, drink some coffee and have that ginger step in my walk, that incisive biting wit, that increased attention, and extra energy.

You make the decision as to whether you need that kind of supplement in your life. And as my decision, something that might only be (at the most) moderately harmful, I choose to drink large quantities of coffee so that those aforementioned qualities are amplified to their greatest. Who wouldn't want to have that extra bit of everything throughout their day??

That aside, it is a personal decision to decide what you want to do to your body and with your body. I certainly endorse self-mutilation and sickeningly harsh addictions for anyone who makes that conscious decision so I really don't care what anyone else thinks. But remember that those choices should be based on a sound judgement that you come to, with forethought given to the future of your life and to consequences of your actions.

..... remember when you're on your deathbed .... it was your choice to smoke large quantities of ciggarettes or sniff massive amounts of paint thinner .... it's not Marlboro's or Behr's fault.

So go on America ... drink more alcohol, lick more frogs, smoke more ciggarettes, inject more coffee .... I mean "Drink" more coffee .... and have fun all the way to the grave! Yee-Haw!

Later boys and girls.

DiaryLand.com