Chasing Bottles
October 11, 2002, 3:59 a.m.

earlier / later

Odd. But funny.

Tonight, while waiting for my girlfriend to pick me up from work I saw the Gainesville Police Department patrol car come closer and closer. Fearing that he might stop to ask me why I was standing on an unlit corner next to the mall I perked up a bit, then, right after hitting a 20 ounce soda bottle, he made a U-turn in the parking lot. He swung aroung, and inadvertantly hit the bottle again. Or so I thought.

I was a little relieved that I didn't have to deal with a nosey police officer after working a 7 hour shift of doing tons of paperwork. But then I saw him pull off the mall road and back into the parking lot where he turned around again, heading straight for my corner. Almost as soon as he did, he hit the bottle again, sending it flying thirty feet across the pavement. Just then he turned the expensive patrol car to the direction the bottle shot, where he chased it. He ran over it again, sending it flying back off into the road and went on his way.

Ten minutes later, as he completed his trek around the mall grounds, he made his way to the bottle with his hunk of white and blue steel. Hitting it once again, but not being able to to successfully crush it, he turned the car back around and driving past me, he slowed, and through the open window smirked "It just won't smash..."!

He ran over it again, it didn't crush.

It was good to know that not all police officers are the serious assholes they're made out to be, but then I thought: "I only live two minutes away from here..."!

I'll be calling the Sheriff's Office if I need some service and protection in the future ... hopefully they hunt thieves and murderers instead of Pepsi bottles.

DiaryLand.com